Lightning strikes twice | Part Two

After my futile attempts during the first sighting, the vehicle stopped after a few hundred meters. Whispers of leopard! leopard! was all I could hear. After scanning the whole perimeter, I couldn’t locate the leopard. I looked towards the driver and he was pointing the camera towards a tree. This young leopard was looking directly at us, least bothered with our presence. As if the leopard had spotted us and not the other way round.

 

leppy_hypnotic_eyes_img_3661
Hypnotic Eyes

 

On an open perch, posing for us, it made the perfect horizontal frame until I realized I would not get the full tail at 400mm. That’s how I ended up with a vertical frame.

img_3678

And the leopard was bored of posing. Got down from the tree and walked away…

img_3713

The entire sighting lasted for about 1.5 mins. It seemed like a lifetime. First a leopard in my backyard, then two leopards on trees on one safari! That is what I call a Dream Come True!

Shot details: (ISO 1000, f5.6, EC -0.3, Aperture Priority)

Leave a Reply

