Indian striped Hyena

Indian Striped Hyena
Mavanhalla, Mudumalai Tiger Reserve, Nilgiris, Tamil Nadu, Southern India

As the last rays of the sun were fading, I decided to put away the camera. I turned it off and lowered the camera down without letting my eyes off the surrounding. From a distance, I spotted a figure ‘trotting’ in our direction. As it came closer and closer, I let out a subdued yell… HYENA!!! This one came very close and paused for a few precious seconds. Secretly praying for it to not move, I lifted my camera, shot up the ISO to 3200, under-exposed to get a better shutter speed and fired away! Incredibly lucky to see this “near threatened” species at such close quarters.

5 thoughts on “Indian striped Hyena

Leave a Reply

